Who needs a Portugal airport transit visa. The requirements for transit passengers and how to apply for a layover visa in Portugal.

Who needs a Portugal Airport transit visa

An airport transit visa is a type of visa that allows people to connect their flight from one or more airports in the Schengen area or beyond. In this article we will take you through who needs a Portugal Airport transit visa, its exemptions and more.

Citizens of these countries are required to have an airport transit visa:

Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Democratic Republic of Congo, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Ghana, Iran, Iraq, Nigeria, Pakistan, Somalia and Sri Lanka.

You might also need more details from the consular office or specific requirements based on your nationality.

Exemptions for airport transit visa:

Below are those exempted from getting a visa:

People holding a uniform visa, long-stay national visas, or residency permits issued by a Schengen Area Member State are exempt.

Third-country nationals holding a valid residence permit from a Member State not fully participating in Schengen regulations or countries such as Andorra, Canada, Japan, San Marino, or the USA, which guarantees unconditional readmission, or from overseas territories of the Kingdom of the Netherlands (Aruba, Curaçao, Sint Maarten, Bonaire, Sint Eustatius, and Saba) are exempted.

Those with a valid visa for a non-Schengen Member State, a country under the European Economic Area agreement, Canada, Japan, the USA, or the overseas territories of the Kingdom of the Netherlands, do not need a visa when travelling to or from the issuing country or any third country.

  • Family members of EU citizens enjoying freedom of movement rights are exempt.
  • Holders of diplomatic passports are excluded.
  • Flight crew members from countries that are party to the Chicago Convention on International Civil Aviation also do not need to obtain a visa.
Scroll to Top